Jubilee’s gubernatorial, senatorial and Parliament tyranny of numbers

uhuru-kenyatta william ruto
President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto at State House when they announced the new Jubilee Party. PHOTO: PSCU

As the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) continues to announce results from the just concluded General Election, one thing is becoming clear, Jubilee will have its say in the next Parliament.

Zipo.co.ke has established that the President Uhuru Kenyatta-led Jubilee Party scooped majority of seats in both the National Assembly and Senate. Not just that but it also grabbed most of the seats in the gubernatorial race.

READ:  Why we stopped Orengo, Wanjigi from travelling - Immigration
Uhuru Kenyatta_William Ruto_Jubilee manifesto_PSCU
President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto at the Jubilee manifesto launch in Kasarani on June 26, 2017. /PSCU

That perhaps explains the preliminary results in the presidential race where incumbent Uhuru Kenyatta is leading with more than eight million (8,163,572) which is 54.26% of the total votes with only a few hundreds polling stations to go out of the total 44,883. Raila has 6,747,099 (44.85).

It will be remembered that after the 2013 elections, the government had it easy implementing its agenda as it had a solid backing in Parliament.

READ:  NASA now claims US Ambassador Godec received Jubilee bribes

If the numbers (see below) are anything to go by, then Uhuru and his deputy William Ruto will have a five-year walk in the park.

Uhuru Kenyatta_William Ruto_Kiambu
President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto at Thika Stadium on June 18, 2017. /PSCU

Below see how the different parties won the different seats.

1. Jubilee 25
2. ODM 13
3. Wiper 02
4. Jubilee affiliates 02
5. NASA affiliate 03
6. Independents 02 (Laikipia and Isiolo)

READ:  Kalonzo Musyoka in trouble as key allies threaten to join Governor Mutua

1. Jubilee 24
2. ODM 13
3. Wiper 03
4. Jubilee affiliates 03
5. NASA affiliates 04
6. Independents 00

Women Representatives:
1. Jubilee 26
2. ODM 10
3. Wiper 03
4. Jubilee affiliates 04
5. NASA affiliates 03
6. Independents 1 (Meru)

Members of Parliament:
1. Jubilee 141
2. ODM 63
3. Wiper 20
4. Jubilee affiliates 24
5. NASA affiliates 38