The NASA MPs who defied Raila and joined Uhuru in Parliament

They are both from Western Kenya

Raila Odinga_Thinking

On Tuesday, September 12, The National Super Alliance asked their MPs to boycott the official opening of Parliament by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Two Opposition leaders however, defied their leaders and attended the session that was also given a wide berth by the Judiciary.

Alfred Sambu_Musalia Mudavadi
Alfred Sambu (centre) joins other ANC leaders to receive their nominations certificates. They are joined by party leader Musalia Mudavadi (second right). /THE STAR

Webuye East MP Alfred Sambu and his Hamisi counterpart Charles Gimose were the only legislators out of the 136 legislators from Nasa and its affiliated parties who showed up in Parliament.

READ:  Homa Bay Governor Cyprian Awiti loses his seat

The two belong to the Amani National Congress (ANC) and Ford Kenya led by Musalia Mudavadi and Moses Wetang’ula respectively.

As President Kenyatta gave his maiden address to the 12th Parliament, Raila Odinga and his cronies were in Kibra constituency where they held a rally.

A day earlier, Wetangula had said Kenyatta lacked the moral authority to convene Parliament as his reelection was nullified and a new election ordered by the Supreme Court.

READ:  Raila writes to Ramaphosa, tells him he has his full support

According to the Nasa co-principal, the responsibility should have been left to a President who has been validly elected and taken the oath of office and allegiance.

The Opposition is yet to speak about the two MPs who swam against the current but Sambu was quoted by the Standard saying he didn’t do anything wrong by going to Parliament to listen to the Head of State.

READ:  Keter charged with attempting to defraud Central Bank

He said he had not been consulted in a meeting where the decision not to attend the session was arrived at.