Julius Yego settles for silver in Rio following injury

German Thomas Rohler won gold

Julius Yego_Rio
Julius Yego in the javelin at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. PHOTO: GETTY IMAGES

World javelin champion Julius Yego was devastated after an injury ended his chase for gold during the ongoing Rio Olympics.

The celebrated Kenyan athlete who has been christened the YouTube Man after learning the sport using the video platform, was forced to retire from the games early and settle for the silver medal, reports Tuko.

READ: How 12 Kenyan MPs made KShs50K a day while in Rio

Yego who sadly got injured, was ahead of his competitors after three throws followed by Thomas Rohler of Germany and Keshorn Walcot of Trinidad and Tobago.

A crying Yego was transported out of the field in a wheelchair to receive treatment for the injury as his gold medal dreams died.

Rohler later on threw past Yego’s last throw, winning the gold medal for Germany with the latter settling for Bronze. Walcot took home bronze.

Thomas Rohler
Thomas Rohler, winner of the javelin at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. PHOTO: GETTY IMAGES

Rohler won the gold thanks to a convincing throw of 90.30m with Yego managing 88.24m while the bronze winner Walcot threw 85.38m.

READ: Rio gold-winning marathoner Jemima Sumgong narrates win

Yego went to Rio as the reigning World Javelin champion, a fete he achieved in 2015 in Beijing, China.

Julius Yego_Rio wheelchair
Julius Yego is wheeled out of the field to receive treatment following injury during javelin throw at the Rio Olympics. PHOTO: TUKO

Before that, Yego was crowned the Commonwealth Javelin champion in 2014 in Glasgow, Scotland.

His journey to the world stage kicked off when he won the Javelin gold at the All Africa Games in 2011 in Maputo, Mozambuique.

He has two African championship gold medals that he won in 2012 and 2014 improving on the bronze he had won earlier in 2010.

READ: CS Wario in hot water over Team Kenya Rio drama

In all, Kenya has won five gold medals already at the 2016 Rio Olympics. The first one was won in the women’s marathon by Jemima Sumgong, David Rudisha also retained his gold in the men’s 800 metres.

The other golds are from Faith Kipyegon who won in the women’s 1500 metres as well as Conselsus Kipruto who defeated the defending 3000 metres steeplechase champion Ezekiel Kemboi.

Via Tuko